Ipswich Tribune -

4-H Hall of Fame recipients honored at State Fair


September 29, 2021

Courtesy photo

From left: SDSU Extension Director Karla Trautman, 2021 Inductee Carole Curtis, SDSU Extension 4-H Volunteer Development Field Specialist Jenae Hansen and South Dakota 4-H Program Director Tim Tanner.

Four individuals were welcomed into the South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame, as well as three more into the 4-H Shooting Sports Volunteer Hall of Fame this month during the 2021 South Dakota State Fair in Huron. The public ceremony was held Sunday, Sept. 5 at the Nordby Exhibit Hall.

The 2021 Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees included Carole Curtis of Ipswich. For 45 years, Carole has been a prominent figure in keeping 4-H programming going in Edmunds County.

She started her career as an Extension Educator in Edmunds County in 1976, putting on many youth programs, including safety camps, judging schools and quiz bowls. She also started a 4-H club in Ipswich, which she continues to lead. Following her retirement, Curtis helped new 4-H staff become familiar with her job and people in the community. She has also stepped up when Edmunds County was without an educator, filling the gap and making sure 4-H members continued to have the opportunity to participate at their county achievement days.

Her 4-H club is known for its community service efforts, and Curtis also personally serves the community as a member of the development corporation and on the Trail Days committee.

Also honored were:

• Ree Reich of Butte County was recognized for her 40-plus years of volunteering with the South Dakota 4-H Positive Youth Development program and Butte County

• Ardyce Elwood of Pennington County has had a lasting impact on many 4-H families, with her 50 years of service to Pennington County and South Dakota 4-H.

• Cindy Riley of Butte County has built a prolific 4-H resume with 33 years of service to Butte County and the South Dakota 4-H program.

The 2021 4-H Shooting Sports Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees are:

• For more than 15 years, Tom Smith has served as the head Shooting Sports instructor for Lawrence County.

• Art and Audrey Kneen have devoted more than 25 years to the Sanborn County and South Dakota 4-H Shooting Sports program.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees were unable to be recognized in a public ceremony during the 2020 State Fair. During this year's ceremony, the 2020 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees were also recognized and include Patricia Casteel, Meade County; Calvin Finnesand, Roberts County; Mike Steiger, Dewey County; Patty Brunner, Pennington County; and Margaret Williams, Clay County.

The 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame commemorates the 4-H Centennial, which occurred in 2002. Each summer, individuals who have made significant contributions to county or state 4-H programming are honored through the 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame.

"Congratulations to all of our 2020 and 2021 4-H Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees," says Jenae Hansen, South Dakota 4-H Volunteer Development Field Specialist. "Thank you for your generous support and efforts in making South Dakota 4-H a successful youth development program."

South Dakota State University (SDSU) Extension's 4-H Youth Development Program is a partnership of federal (U.S. Department of Agriculture), state (Land Grant University) and county resources through youth outreach activities of SDSU Extension. Youth learn and experience leadership, health and wellness, and science and agriculture through a network of professional staff and volunteers reaching more than 9,000 enrolled members with yearly programming efforts to an additional 35,000 youth participants.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Ipswich Tribune
Roscoe Hosmer Independent

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 12/28/2022 19:54